Our History

Home
Father Peter Antony
Our Parish
Sacred Heart Mission
Our History
Weekly Bulletin
Summer Youth Camp Form
Calendar
Lenten Schedule
Novena
Staff and Volunteers
Clubs and Groups
Youth Activities
Holy Year of Mercy
First Holy Communicants
Confirmation
Christmas Images
Thanksgiving Day Picnic
Contact Us
Religious Links

olcoutside.jpg
Our Lady of Consolation, Vattmann, Texas

In 1907, Theodore Koch, a land developer, purchased 20,000 acres of land from the King Ranch. He proposed to develop this land into three areas: Riviera, Riviera Beach and Vattmannville (later shortened to Vattmann). Mr. Koch sought the help of Father Edward J. Vattmann, the then secretary of the Catholic Colonization Society of America, to help him populate the area that came to be known as Vattmannville, later shortened to Vattmann. Soon a Church was built and dedicated as Our Lady of Consolation

The original Our Lady of Consolation Church was destroyed in the Hurricane of 1916, except for its bell. This bell is now located in the present Church. The existing Church was built in 1919 and dedicated in 1920.  The inside bricks of the Church were made by its parishioners, using sand, mud and clay from the Baffin Bay area. The outside bricks were brought in from a brick factory in D’Hannis, Texas. The beautiful Crucifixion on the High Altar was imported from Germany. The stained glass windows in the upper balcony and front of the Church were originally located on either side of the Main Altar. The stained glass windows on each wall of the Church, also from Germany, were added in the 1930’s.

austrian.jpg
Our Lady of Perpetual Help - Austrian Painting

ourladyoffatima.jpg
Grotto of Our Lady of Fatima

In 1927, an Austrian painting of Our Lady of Perpetual Help was located in the niche by the Church vestibule. The statue of St. Anthony is located in the niche in the front of the Church, just beneath the bell tower. A Grotto of Our Lady of Fatima is situated on the Church grounds, facing State Farm Road 628.

olcbuildings.jpg
Community Hall and Arts/Crafts Bldg.

A school, a convent and community hall, as well as a rectory were later added to the Church.  The school and convent are no longer open, but the community hall and convent building are used by our parishioners for various activities and events.

1022090954.jpg
Cemetery

Our Lady of Consolation Cemetery

cemetery.jpg
Our Lady of Consolation Cemetery with Church in Background
                         

Our Lady of Consolation Cemetery is located just north of the Church and is maintained by Our Lady of Consolation Cemetery Association. Three of the Church’s former priests are buried in this cemetery as well as a 1898 Spanish-American War veteran, Colonel James Langley. An altar and a crucifixion scene was donated to the cemetery by the C. C. May family and Neal Yaklin family. Donations from our parishioners and other families support the maintenance of the cemetery.

 + + + + + + + + + +

 

With each challenge we have encountered, we became stronger in our faith. We invite you to become a part of our church today and add to its history of tomorrow.

olcoutside.jpg
Our Lady of Consolation Church

 
Our Lady of Consolation Parish
204 Palm Avenue, Riviera, TX 78379
Phone: 361-297-5255
Fax:     361-297-5155
website manager: Maria Elena Crowley
email: tdy1@aol.com